Live in Florida or are visiting the state and are interested in renting a jet ski in Venice, FL. You should be aware of the state’s rules regarding the operation and rental of personal watercraft.
How old one has to be able to use a jet ski themselves is the most often query we receive at Cool Breeze Boats and Jet Ski Rentals. According to state law, a person in Florida must be at least cross 14 years old to operate a personal watercraft and at least 18 years old to rent one.
But these are only two significant rules the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission has established. The following is a summary of some other laws you should be aware of if you intend to rent jet skis while visiting Florida:
- Florida law mandates that all personal watercraft (PWVs) users wear non-inflatable wearable personal flotation devices (PFDs) that the state has approved. PFDs that inflate is not allowed when using personal watercraft.
- If the manufacturer provides an engine cutoff switch lanyard, the operator of a personal watercraft must fasten it to their person, clothes, or PFD.
- In Florida, operating a vessel recklessly is a first-degree misdemeanor. It includes swerving to escape a collision at the last second, jumping the wakes of other boats that are excessively close to you, or operating your watercraft while visibility is poor.
- Personal watercraft can be used a half-hour before sunrise and a half-hour after dusk. Personal watercraft are not permitted to be used on Florida’s waters outside those hours, even while using navigational lights. Additionally, federal and state laws mandate using nautical lights from dusk to dawn.
- Anyone knowingly permitting a child under 14 to operate a personal watercraft is breaking the law. This is a second-degree misdemeanor that carries fines and jail time.
- People who were born on or after January 1, 1988, are needed by Florida law to have either finished and passed a boating education course permitted by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) or passed a temporary certificate examination. When operating a boat with a motor of 10 horsepower or more, they must also carry a photo ID and a boating education ID card. People who successfully finish these courses receive lifetime ID cards. Temporary certificates are effective for a whole year from the date of issuance.
Before you take out your jet ski rentals in Venice, FL, we encourage you to contact Cool Breeze Boats and Jet Ski Rentals for more information about Florida’s rules for personal watercraft. It’s essential to ensure you comply with all of these rules for your safety and the safety of others.